Matthew 6:34

I am continually baffled by the lifestyles of Italian culture. At first glance, one might consider it inefficient, undeveloped even, compared to the way we Americans get from one day to the next, but I think instead it is one we should learn from. In America we are continually looking forward, and granted from this progress is made, but what about now? What about this very moment? It goes overlooked and therefore unappreciated. We move so fast from one activity to the next, constantly planning for the future that the thought of simply resting in the present makes us feel as though we are already behind. Here in Sorrento I find myself challenged to just slow down and enjoy what is. Why ignore the breath taking view I pass everyday on my way to school? Why take for granted the incredible history sitting just outside my window or miss the opportunity to make friendships that could last a lifetime. When so much of our day is spent working for results and stressing over what lay ahead, I’ve found its the little things that truly make life so sweet. It’s the joy in every meal and every song, every rainy day, and every pick up soccer game that I don’t want to miss.

“Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” 

