Call Me Florence Nightingale

So it was a rainy Thursday night as we were sitting at school just finishing some homework (cough FACEBOOK cough) when all the sudden we were like “Hey… lets go to Florence… tomorrow!” And so that is exactly what we did. Booking our hotels, buying our train tickets, and packing our bags all in a matter of hours, Sammy, Jake Ryan, and I headed north to the Tuscany town of Florence. With Jake as our seasoned veteran, we spent our first afternoon exploring the beautiful city in only the most sensible of ways… Segways, that is. I understand that all you haters out there may be scoffing at the idea, but I guarantee that I too was a doubter. That was, of course, until I was able to experience the Segway in all its glory. Just Imagine an Avatar connecting with its dragon thing… only me on a Segway. It was basically like that, and don’t let anyone tell you any different. So sfter seeing all the sights we had time for, we then went to meet Sam’s roommate from home at a hole in the wall bar where we enjoyed a super delicious authentic Italian meal. So tired from the morning of traveling, we called it a night and went back to our room.

The next day we spent wandering around the town. I went to the top of the Duomo, took a nap in front of a palace, at gelato in the shape of mickey mouse, and even snuck a picture of the famous David statue on my phone. That night we found a bumpin’ salsa dance club where I learned ole Jacob was quite the cultured dancer. Sadly I have no evidence as proof. After getting a good nights sleep, we then spent the remainder of our trip laying out in the piazza in front of a church, enjoying the sun until it was time to catch the train back home. Florence was the big city with a small town atmosphere where the was music and art on every corner. You could spend a whole day wandering lost through the streets and never get bored. It was the perfect spur of the moment getaway.

