The Intern-Ship

Northport

In two hours I’ll be driving to St. Louis, fourteen and I’ll fly to Miami, twenty-two I will have landed in St. Thomas, and in twenty-three I’ll be onboard a ferry headed to the island of Tortola. Not to be mistaken for Tortuga from Pirates of the Caribbean. I’m 97% sure that place isn’t real. Well, to be honest I’m not even sure if Tortola is real but Google images recognized it so that’s got to count for something.

Anyways. You might be wondering the reason for my tropical voyage, but even if you aren’t I’m going to tell you anyway. This summer I scored a social media internship with Sail Caribbean, a sailing and diving company located in the British Virgin Islands. Pretty neat eh? I thought so. So for the next three months I will be sleeping on sailboats, learning to SCUBA, avoiding sharks at all costs, and tweeting in paradise… for school of course. But thankfully I’m not going in completely blind. The weekend before last I ventured to the village of Northport in Long Island, New York where Sail Caribbean’s year round office resides. There I was trained for my position, learning the specifics duties, responsibilities, and expectations of the social media intern. I was also able to meet four of the five people I will be sharing an apartment with this summer. Upon which I was a pleasantly surprised to find how internationally diverse the Sail Caribbean staff is with my roommates being everywhere from Ireland to England to good ole NYC.

Since I won’t be returning to the States until the end of August, (two days before classes start to be exact), there is of course the bittersweet aspect of having a ten day summer at home. However, I have no doubt my family will find some excuse to come down and visit. So with good-byes said and bags packed, I am very much looking forward to my summer at sea. Now all that’s left is figuring out how to get this stinkin’ suitcase under 50 pounds.

Sail Caribbean

